heathershomecooking

Our Favorite Recipes For You to Enjoy

Pesto Turkey Meatballs March 2, 2011

Filed under: Slow Cooker,Turkey — heathershomecooking @ 6:00 am

 

Every now and then I make a healthier alternative to one of our favorite dishes.  I will let the hubby enjoy it, take in his praise about the dish, watch him lick the plate clean-don’t judge-and then I say his least favorite phrase……”You know what’s best about this?” and he rolls his eyes because he knows what is next or he will do a very innaccurate impersonation of me saying “It’s healthy for you!!”.  I don’t know what his aversion is to healthy dishes, but it makes me so happy to make food that taste amazing and I don’t have to feel guilty about after eating, this is one of those dishes.  Tonight I made the meatballs into subs, but you could pair it with spaghetti or serve it as an appetizer.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/4c breadcrumbs
  • 1/4c basil pesto
  • 1/4c grated parmesan
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2c spaghetti sauce

Directions:

Combine turkey, breadcrumbs, pesto, parmesan, and salt; form meatballs using 1 Tbsp. of mix; pour a small amount of sauce in bottom of dish; place meatballs in dish; cover with remaining sauce; cover with foil; and bake 30-40 minutes (until cooked thru)

You can also make these in the slow cooker by putting meatballs and sauce in a crock pot and cooking on low for 6 hours